Mentors Honored by Outstanding Seniors

MANSFIELD, PA—Seventeen Mansfield University faculty and staff were honored as 2015-16 Outstanding Senior Mentors at a reception on Wednesday, April 20.Oustanding Senior MentorsThey were recognized by MU’s Outstanding Senior nominees for being a positive influence on them with and have mentored them as a student and future professional.

Each honoree received a certificate and a copy of the nominating letter from the student.

The honorees and the students who nominated them are:

Adam Brennan, Music, nominated by Sarah K. Kois

Justin Crowl, Criminal Justice Administration, nominated by Patricia M. Gentzyel

Scott Davis, Chemistry and Physics, nominated by Martin S. Holdren

Jennifer Demchak, Geosciences, nominated by Christopher J. Oliver-Nez

Peggy Dettwiler, Music, nominated by Kyle J. Rusk

Andee Dunham, formerly of Student Life, nominated by Matthew D. Romanauski

Mary Feeney, Health Sciences, nominated by Avery N. Yoder

Andy Gaskievicz, History, Philosophy and Political Science nominated by Brooke L. Gottwald

Andy Havalchak, Business and Economics, nominated by Daniel J. Brought

Brian Loher, Psychology, nominated by Chelsey M. Gavin

Robert Maris, Biology, nominated by Alexis C. Anderson, Carly S. Golden and Craig E. Rose

Steve McCloskey, Sports Information, nominated by Emilee J. Andrews

Lynn Pifer, English and Modern Languages, nominated by Miranda C. Peery

Jan Purk, Social Work and Sociology, nominated by Sierra Blake

Gretchen Sechrist, Psychology, nominated by Katelyn M. Gavin

Michelle Schlegel, Art, nominated by Julie Brossman

Michele Whitecraft, Education and Special Education, nominated by Robert S. Eastwood, Jr. and Brianna N. Hathaway

The event was sponsored by the Office of the Provost.

The Outstanding Senior Award will be presented at Commencement on May 7.