Mansfield Signs Agreements with Three Chinese Universities

MANSFIELD, PA— Mansfield University Interim President Scott Barton has signed new 1+2+1 dual degree partnership agreements with three major universities in China: Huaqiao University, Shandong University, and Southwest Petroleum University.President Scott Barton prepares to sign agreements with Huaqiao University, Shandong University, and Southwest Petroleum University as Provost John Ulrich (left) and Brad Lint (right), US-China exchange coordinator and assistant professor of English, look on.MU has been a member of the Sino-American CHEPD 1+2+1 Program since 2007. This program, which is jointly administered by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) and the China Center for International Educational Exchange (CCIEE), enables Chinese students to complete their first year at their Chinese university, their next two years at MU, and their final year at their home institution. Upon successful completion of the program, students earn degrees from both institutions.

The new agreements will help facilitate student and faculty exchange programs between MU and Chinese partner universities for many years to come.

“We value our partnerships with these three prestigious universities and being able to continue welcoming their students, enriches our campus life and culture here at Mansfield,” Barton said. “I truly appreciate the efforts of Dr. Brad Lint, our US-China exchange coordinator, and Provost John Ulrich in facilitating these agreements.”

Lint is also an assistant professor of English at Mansfield.

Below are profiles of Huaqiao University, Shandong University, and Southwest Petroleum University.

Huaqiao Univeristy (HQU)
Established:    1960
Location:        Quanzhou, Fujian Province, with a new campus in Xiamen in 2006
President:        Jia Yimin
Students:         24,000
Faculty:           1,700

Huaqiao University was established to educate Chinese who were born and raised abroad (a quarter of its 160,000 alumni hail from overseas). The university is particularly well known for its programs in Chinese language and culture, mechanical and civil engineering, architecture, material science, and pharmacy. The university supports 90 research institutes and has been recognized with a National Science and Technology Development award from the central government. Several HQU programs, including international business management, software engineering, and international economics and trade are taught in English. Divided into 19 colleges, HQU offers 52 undergraduate programs, 64 master’s programs, and 9 doctoral programs.

Shandong University (SDU)
Established:    1901, the second national university in China after Imperial University of Peking
Location:        Jinan, Shandong Province is home to six of the university’s eight campuses
President:        Fan Liming
Students:         60,000
Faculty:           3,000

Shandong University is one of the oldest, largest, and most prestigious universities in China. It offers degrees in 12 general disciplines. It has 41 research centers, 14 affiliated hospitals, 175 laboratories. Its library holds more than 4.5 million volumes. The college’s charter was drafted by Yuan Shikai in 1916, and former faculty include famous writers Lao She, Shen Congwen, and winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2012, Mo Yan. SDU partners with 70 universities in 50 countries, and the university has over 1500 international students. SDU maintains a joint urban research center with the University of Cincinnati and a lab partnership with Virginia Tech. Divided into 31 schools, SDU offers 104 undergraduate programs, 209 master’s programs, and 127 doctoral programs.

Southwest Petroleum University (SWPU)
Established:    1958
Location:        Nanchong, Sichuan Province, with a second campus established in Chengdu
President:        Zhao Jinzhou
Students:         32,000
Faculty:           1,600

Southwest Petroleum University is divided into 16 schools covering eight major disciplines: science, engineering, management, economics, arts, law, and education. The university maintains 25 research centers as well as seven laboratories. Its national level key disciplines include oil and gas exploitation engineering, oil and gas drilling engineering, and oil and gas storage and transportation engineering. SWPU has been awarded the grand prize and first prize in “National Science and Technology Progress” as well as the second prize in “National Science and Technology Progress and Invention.” Divided into 18 schools, SWPU offers 65 undergraduate programs, 85 master’s programs, and 23 doctoral programs.