Katherine Thompson named Mansfield University Outstanding Senior Award recipient


MANSFIELD – Katherine Thompson, a Chemistry major from Greenville, Pa., was named the 2020 recipient of Mansfield University’s Outstanding Senior Award.

Each year, academic departments nominate students for the prestigious Outstanding Senior Award.  A faculty-led committee reviews each nominee’s record of academic achievement, the quality of their service to the university and community, and evidence of their leadership skills.  The committee then selects a small number of candidates who are interviewed by the committee and required to write an impromptu essay.  Based on the application materials, the interview, and the essay, the committee selects an Outstanding Senior. 

16 students were nominated for the 2020 Outstanding Senior Award by their respective departments.

Thompson participated in several off-campus competitive internships during the summer and contributed to research at Mansfield University involving the pervasiveness of microplastics and presented that research at multiple conferences. She plans to attend graduate school in the fall to obtain a Ph.D. and has been accepted to Vanderbilt University, Penn State University, Stony Brook University, and the University of Virginia. Thompson’s future goal is to contribute to materials chemistry research involving nanoscience with possible renewable or more efficient energy applications.

Mansfield University will recognize its Outstanding Senior nominees and present the recipient of the award with a plaque at the rescheduled Commencement ceremony, on a date to be determined. 

A full list of Outstanding Senior Award nominees is listed below:

Nominee (Department) Mentor

Quincy Amabile (English and World Languages) 

Sierra Austin (Education/Special Education) Michele Whitecraft

Sarah Bogdan (English and World Languages) Brad Lint

Hunter Brewer (Geosciences)    

Mariah Conrad (Social Work) Tiffany Welch

Madison Curtis (Psychology) Karen Crisp

Anastasia Hester (Health Sciences) Rochelle Clark

Victoria Holton (Art)      

Django Klumpp (Music) Eric Carlin

Seungho Lee (Business Admin) Gopalan Kutty

Mario D. Mondelice (Mathematics and CIS) Matt Haner

Ty C. Moon (Biology)     

Samantha Muscella (History, Philosophy, Political Science and Sociology)               

Shannon Pizzirusso (Music) Jeff Jacobsen

Shadoe Sellers Sr. (Social Work) Mary Daly

Katherine Thompson (Chemistry and Physics) Elaine Farkas